× Forum Header

need help setting up, and troubleshooting config for a 48" X 48" X 5" router

More
17 Jun 2017 19:34 #94654 by travis036
travis036 created the topic: need help setting up, and troubleshooting config for a 48" X 48" X 5&q
i am fairly new to CNC, so please be gentile on me ;)

ok, i bought a Techno/Isel CNC router a while back, it is about 48" X 48" X 5" working area. all the components i have bought off eBay to get it operational again.

my stepper drivers are HY-DIV268N-5A, i don't have the stepper info on me at the time, but i can get it if needed.

now, i am not sure how to setup LinuxCNC for my hardware. i couldn't find any timing info for my stepper drivers, so if somebody knows the values i would be most grateful.
Here are the symptoms:
all axis will move fine when jogging with the test controls in StepConf Wizard, though the negative jog is a little more noisy than the positing movement. when i jog with LinuxCNC, it works the first time on all axis, but when i cycle back through, all axis make a lot of noise with no movement. also, when i set "Machine off", the steppers all buzz.

thoughts? suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any help.

~Travis
More
17 Jun 2017 20:50 #94655 by BigJohnT
BigJohnT replied the topic: need help setting up, and troubleshooting config for a 48" X 48" X 5&q
Here is a stepper driver timing page from the wiki.
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Stepper_Drive_Timing

What values do you have now for step and direction timing?

JT
More
17 Jun 2017 20:57 #94656 by travis036
travis036 replied the topic: need help setting up, and troubleshooting config for a 48" X 48" X 5&q
i am not at my machine right now, but the last driver setting i tried was for the Hobbycnc preset. i was trying to find one that would work for a base value to figure it out from.

~Travis
More
17 Jun 2017 21:01 #94657 by BigJohnT
BigJohnT replied the topic: need help setting up, and troubleshooting config for a 48" X 48" X 5&q