RTAPI: ERROR: unexpected realtime delay on task 1

More
17 Jun 2014 06:34 #48017 by hickbooz
Hi all!

I'm new to LinuxCNC and I'm having some trouble. My latency test goes to 500000ns when I open firefox (doesn't pass 20000ns with other apllications) and when I open LinuxCNC i get the error RTAPI: ERROR: unexpected realtime delay on task 1.

Below are the erros and my video card inforamtion. I would be very glad wiht someone could help me out. I've already done some research on it, but I have no results, maybe because I don't have a lot experience with LinuxCNNC.

id:
display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: G96 [GeForce 9500 GT]
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id:
bus info:
pci@0000:01:00.0
version: a1
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list rom
configuration:
driver = nvidia
latency = 0
resources:
irq : 16
memory : fa000000-faffffff
memory : d0000000-dfffffff(prefetchable)
memory : f8000000-f9ffffff
ioport : bf00(size=128)
memory : fb000000-fb07ffff(prefetchable)
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jun 2014 13:30 #48024 by ArcEye
Hi

You have the proprietary nvidia driver installed

Go to synaptic package installer and search for nvidia.
You will find the package nvidia-glx or similar installed

Removing that should revert to the open source nouveau driver and you should be informed that will happen

After a reboot your latency should be improved, but how much is unknown, as have no idea what your computer is. Some computers do not work well at all and others need 8.04.

regards
The following user(s) said Thank You: hickbooz

More
06 Aug 2014 03:21 #49540 by hickbooz
I tried to do it, but apparently there is no nvidia-glx installed.

I listed below the installed packages related to nvidia. There is a lot of nvidia-glx listed, but none of them are installed.

There is some other package that I have to unistall?

Thank you!
Attachments:

More