Beginner: AXIS and basic homing

More
09 Oct 2015 19:48 #63618 by Micromet
As a newbie, I understand the concepts of machine home and work origins (at least I think I do). I just have trouble with the practical implementation within AXIS. I don't think this is a problem with AXIS - its just my lack of understanding and AXIS is the default GUI that I use.

My questions are:
1) when the machine is just switched on - does the machine know in absolute terms in the XYZ 3D-space where the Control point is - or is the "turn-on" position of the control point set as X,Y,Z = 0,0,0.

My particular problem is:
I 've created a 2D image in Inkscape and used Inkscape Gcodetools to create the G-code for the machine. This image is for engraving onto 30mm diameter keyring disks. The image is positioned relative to the XY (0,0) origin in Inkscape so that I could use the 0,0 position as the engraving starting position over the keyring link hole at the edge of the blank disc. The G-code conversion and GUI image are loaded without problem into AXIS with the control point cone positioned initially over the 0,0 image position.
2) So how do I now set up the control point to sit over this image 0,0 point (i.e. the hole in the blank disc) and commence to engrave successfully? If I move the X,Y,Z stepper motors to place the Control point over the hole and home the axes, the "cone" in the AXIS image window now is somewhere else away from the original X,Y = 0,0 of the Inkscape image and commencing a test engraving run puts the tool in completely the wrong place.

I guess I'm asking how the "Home axes" and "touch-off" interact and what is the sequence I need to follow to a) let the machine know where the "Control Point" is and then b) to move the "Control Point" over my image starting position (X,Y = 0,0 - which I presume is somehow known to the G-code instructions) for successful engraving at the right place.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More