Games joypad and write permissions to /etc/udev/rules.d

More
12 Dec 2016 20:58 #83980 by Maitland
I'm new to LinuxCNC, and not experienced in Linux, so please bear with what must be virtually an FAQ. I have got LinuxCNC going and successfully controlling my Chinese 3020 flatbed and my Austrian Emco Unimat 3 lathe of ancient vintage. Now I'm trying to set up a joypad following Big John T's instructions. The very last line warns about invisibility of the joypad, and sure enough the halmeter can't see it, although js0 is in /dev/input. The fix is to write a one- line file to open the eyes of the HAL. The trouble is that having written the text, I can't save it in /etc/udev/rules.d. How do I get permission to write?

Version is 2.6.11.

While I'm asking, the instruction tells me to modify my .hal file and my .ini file. Where are these located?

Sorry to bother you with such basic questions.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Dec 2016 21:29 #83988 by andypugh
You won't have the permissions to save from your text editor to /etc/udev... by default.

If you open the editor with sudo privileges then you would be able to. To do this you need to start in a terminal window and type "sudo gedit" or "sudo mousepad"

Alternatively, save the file somewhere in your home folder then move it with another sudo command.
sudo mv ~/99_joypad   /etc/udev/rules.d/

The HAL and INI files will be found in your home folder, inside linuxcnc/configs/

More
12 Dec 2016 21:34 #83990 by Todd Zuercher
After you have ran Linuxcnc or one of the config wizzards within your home directory there should be a directory /linuxcnc/configs/

More
13 Dec 2016 11:30 #84022 by Maitland