trying to control pneumatics with CL - beginner

More
12 Jun 2015 02:28 #59718 by tome
I have some pneumatics I want to control with CL. Since I am new to CL, and don't really know what I am doing, let's start with a basic thing first before moving on to more compilcated timer stuff...

I have two solenoids one to engage/extend the tailstock, one to retract it. Ultimately I want to push a button from a GladeVCP panel to activate them and/or issue a custom M code for them.

When one issues an "engage tailstock" command I want to make sure that the retract solenoid is closed, and THEN open the extend solenoid. Likewise, when one issues a "retract tailstock" command I want to make sure the extend solenoid is closed and THEN open the retract solenoid.

I have CL running when I start Axis but trying to a) figure out how to "draw" the ladder for this, and b) figure out what to connect to what. I am having problems conceptualizing in my mind what the ladder diagram looks like.

In custom.hal I might have:
net tailstock-retract hm2_5i25.0.7i84.0.0.output-09 classicladder.0.out-00
net tailstock-extend hm2_5i25.0.7i84.0.0.output-10 classicladder.0.out-01
net tailstock-rev classicladder.0.in-00
net tailstock-fwd classicladder.0.in-01

I want to do something like below, but that can't be right because issuing the retract doesn't mean you also issue an extend. I don't have an input per se, just signal to extend/retract. I am confused....

I0 I1 Q0
---[]-- --[\]-- --()--

I0 I1 Q1
---[]-- --[\]-- --()--

The more advanced version, is that when I retract, I want to add a timer such that the retract solenoid stays open for, say 3 seconds, and then closes back up (don't need to keep air on it).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jun 2015 02:44 - 12 Jun 2015 02:48 #59720 by BigJohnT
I have some basic Classicladder info on my web site.

gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/ladder/index.html