Hitachi WJ200 Setup

More
09 Aug 2017 22:49 #97265 by gjvander
Hitachi WJ200 Setup was created by gjvander
Hi,

My first post on the forum, and complete noob to Linux. Trying to switch my PCNC1100 over to LinuxCNC. I have a Hitachi WJ200 that I had working with Brains in Mach3. Trying to duplicate setup in some manner, but it has been a struggle. I am also planning to add DL06 to the system, hence the desire for Classicladder.

First thing - I am using the Ch340 RS485 USB device. It appears to work since Modpoll shows correct values (16.90 Hz etc).

I have Classicladder configured with the same parameters:

My question is how do check if Classicladder is talking to the VFD before I start trying to connect pins etc? Can I pull up parameters somewhere and see the 1690 number, for instance? What minimum configuration do I need to in Classicladder under the "Modbus I/O register setup" tab.

I get a communication error from LCNC on startup for Modbus, which makes me think that LCNC is not talking to the VFD.

Regards,

Geo
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Aug 2017 03:01 #97268 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic Hitachi WJ200 Setup
There is a modbus driver included with Linuxcnc specifically for the WJ200 VFD.
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/man/man9/wj200_vfd.9.html
Have you given it a try?

More
10 Aug 2017 12:40 #97283 by gjvander
Replied by gjvander on topic Hitachi WJ200 Setup
Yes, I did try the Wj200 driver. My understanding is that it is hard coded to ttyS0 (which I verified when I found the module on Github), while the CH340 mounts as ttyUSB0 on my machine. I did try to do a soft link (ln -s) to map USB0 to ttyS0, and the module does show up in LCNC. However, when I try to use setp to get any type of response out the VFD,I get no results.

So it is a little bit frustrating to debug the system blindly.