Newbie: connect servo drive to computer cheap

More
15 Dec 2016 02:40 #84139 by vasiliy
Hi all.
I'm absolute newbie to CNC world and to tinkering with electronics. (hope not for long)
I would like to start building my 1st small CNC routing table.
I'm thinking, for starters, I'll buy 1 servo drive and figure out how to control it from my linux box.
Baby steps. Don't want to invest/attempt too much and quit in the middle.
I will run LinuxCNC of cause.
So, from what I've googled, I can use servos like ClearPath SD (please suggest better ones if you know them).
Can those be hoked up directly to parallel port without additional electronics? I've read that parallel ports are not that fast, but they will do as proof of concept, baby steps again :)
Also can anyone suggest a way to acquire or build power supply, without breaking the bank?

Thank you guys for your support.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Dec 2016 10:20 #84153 by andypugh
Step/dir servo drives can be connected directly to a parallel port.
Servo drives that require a +/- 10V analogue voltage for velocity command are rather more difficult to control with a parport. It can be done, in principle, with fairly simple circuitry, but I have never tried it.
There is the Pluto Servo board that would do it for you, but be warned that these may or may not work with any particular parallel port.

More
15 Dec 2016 14:07 #84163 by vasiliy
Thank you for reply
So I'm looking at CPM-SDSK-2310S-RLN.
Specification says: "Logic Input Voltage Range 4.0 to 28 VDC".
And I think parallel port has 5V. Does that mean I can do without any additional circuitry?
Any other issues I should worry about? Like excessive currents ? Or putting it in another words, is connecting directly a dumb idea?

More
15 Dec 2016 14:37 #84166 by andypugh

And I think parallel port has 5V. Does that mean I can do without any additional circuitry?