Lathe controller

More
02 Feb 2017 11:49 #87148 by kor
Lathe controller was created by kor
Hi I am in the planing stages of building a lathe:
2 axis with turret (8 or 12 stations) 6 Gear ratios and a VFD (closed loop steppers)
an MPG is a must.
This lathe should be able to thread (spindle encoding)
Most people so far suggested to go to linuxcnc.
I have 2 mills running on Mach3 and I did build the controller (LPT)
So I am not a complete newbie to the world of CNC.
But the question is what hardware should I get.
Especially if I go with Mesa cards.
There are like a million options.
the 5i25 7i76 plug and go kits seem fairly popular.
but there is also the 7i76e which seems to me like the complete plug and go package
but there are so many cards and they are so difficult to compare.
I haven't found a table comparing there features anywhere.

I am very gratefull for your input.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Feb 2017 12:45 #87149 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Lathe controller

I have 2 mills running on Mach3 and I did build the controller (LPT)

Why not run your lathe from the parallel port too?

LinuxCNC supports a wide variety of hardware interfaces, including one or several parallel ports.
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?LinuxCNC_Supported_Hardware

You would need a fairly low-count spindle encoder for the software-based counter to keep up. 400 counts per rev or thereabouts is about the maximum (depending on base-thread rate and spindle speed).

I spent more on Mesa cards for my current lathe than I spent on the (bought-new) lathe that preceded it. I am using the 5i24 which is one of the alternative class of Mesa cards that use 50-pin connectors rather than D-sub. Those have a slightly wider range of daughter-cards. (Though I get the impression that a wider range of cards is not what you want).

More
02 Feb 2017 13:06 #87150 by kor
Replied by kor on topic Lathe controller