Newbie driver question

More
08 May 2017 17:56 - 08 May 2017 17:57 #92844 by WillyY
Hello,

I'm planning con retrifiting a manual mill/drill into a cnc.

I'm trying to figure out what is needed to use linuxCNC. The question is:

Can I use the drivers STR4 of applied motion? s3.amazonaws.com/applied-motion-pdf/STR4.pdf I'm asking because I can get those somewhat easy where I am. I was planning on using a DB9 serial port from the pc since I only need 3 axis (x,y,z) and the spindle as ON/OFF. (Maybe in the future also adjust spindle speed but not right now because the cost).

I was planning on using NEMA 24 (HT23-601) Steppers.

Does the idea sounds feasible or am I too disoriented?

I read here wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Mesa_Cards that only mesa cards are supported. Does that mean other brands are incompatible?

What do you sugest?

I understand schematics and somewhat the logic behind, but I have little experience in the field. I have previouly work with Mach3 on Windows.

Thank you for the attention.
Last edit: 08 May 2017 17:57 by WillyY.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 May 2017 18:45 - 08 May 2017 18:46 #92859 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Newbie driver question
Those are basic step/dir drives and can be driven with many interface cards including
parallel port, Pico Systems cards, Mesa cards, and General Mechatronics cards

The simplest and least expensive is a parallel port (either on Motherboard or a plug in PCI / PCIE card)

Usually a BOB (Break Out Board) is used with a parallel port to increase the signal drive
strength and protect the parallel port.

Here's an example of a BOB:

www.banggood.com/5-Axis-CNC-Breakout-Int...ith-USB-p-81074.html
Last edit: 08 May 2017 18:46 by PCW.

More
08 May 2017 19:05 #92864 by WillyY
Replied by WillyY on topic Newbie driver question
Thank you, I'll look out for one of those.

More
10 May 2017 15:32 #92965 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Newbie driver question