Can you use fusion 360 without preset tools?

More
18 Mar 2017 19:11 #89865 by Dougefresh
Im having a hard time finding Information on how to configure cnc linux with fusion 360 without preset tools, any help or direction would be greatly appreciate. Im using an old den ford micromill and it came with an 1/8th inch collet that seems to work ok with Dremel bits, ( all I have that are easily obtainable). Ive been reading orangecats posts on how he has set up linux cnc to program a pause to change his tools mid program. Im just wandering if fusion 360 would work with this type of manual tool change and how other go about it. Im a total noob but I have high hopes that I will eventually get this figured out. worse case scenario I will be forced to just buy a bunch of tool holders and move forward. Also at this point I have a good concept of how most things in linux cnc work together but am a little stuck on how to correctly modify my hal file for orange cats manual tool change.. everything else seams pretty straight forward.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Mar 2017 01:07 - 19 Mar 2017 01:12 #89872 by kornphlake79
The best thing to do is create a program for each tool. There isn't any provision in linuxcnc to touch off tools between tool changes while a program is running, without some kind of tool holder you have to touch off the tool manually with every tool change because the tool length changes unpredictably with every tool change. It really isn't that big of an inconvenience running the machine, but it is a little tedious to have to post each tool path individually in fusion360
Last edit: 19 Mar 2017 01:12 by kornphlake79.

More
19 Mar 2017 18:43 #89894 by Dougefresh