What to back up?

More
27 Jan 2017 18:18 #86797 by jordandoe
What to back up? was created by jordandoe
I am new to Linux and LinuxCNC, and I am using a setup that was set up by someone else. I need to back up our system so that we can recreate it as easily as possible on another computer if anything happens to this one. I was hoping you all could help me figure out what files would need to be backed up. I have already backed up the home directory, but I don't know if there's anything else that should be backed up.

Here are the details of our setup. We are:
  • controlling a Shopbot with motor ASM98AA-T7.2 Vexta and driver ASD30A-A
  • using a Mesa 5i25 with a 7i76 daughtercard
  • using LinuxCNC v2.5
  • running Ubuntu 10.04
  • using the Axis GUI
Please let me know if more information is needed. Thanks for your help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jan 2017 19:35 #86799 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic What to back up?
You should be able to get back to where you are with just a clean reinstall from the LiveCD and the contents of the Linuxcnc directory, assuming that there are no custom HAL components involved.

You might find that the upgrade from your current configs to a newer version of LinuxCNC needs a few tweaks to the config files, but those are documented in the upgrades page.
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/getting-started/updating-linuxcnc.html

I would actually recommend doing that now anyway. 2.5 is rather old and no longer getting fixes (in fact, 2.6 is no longer getting fixes).
You can upgrade your current system to 2.7.8 on 10.04 (Ubuntu Lucid), so no need to change the OS at the moment.

More
27 Jan 2017 20:03 #86801 by jordandoe
Replied by jordandoe on topic What to back up?
Thanks for the advice. I'll be sure to back up the LinuxCNC directory.