Which vfd is best for linux cnc?

More
04 Jun 2017 16:13 #94052 by devxpy
I was looking to buy a vfd to control my 3HP ac spindle for a lathe through linux cnc.

(Running linux cnc 2.7)

I currently have a mach 3 interface board hooked up to parallel port and have my stepper motors running successfully.

Basically, i want to buy a vfd that has ample amount of documentation and support for linuxcnc.
I find it rather hard to configure hal files even though i'm an experienced python developer.
And i don't want to deal with all the pain of manually configuring stuff.

So can you guys please suggest a good vfd ?

P.S.
It would be spectacular if someone can point me towards a tutorial or a blog post.
(I have seen some you tube videos but most of them seem to use Chinese vfd's. I'm looking for a good brand like Hitachi or something.)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Jun 2017 20:00 #94056 by Todd Zuercher
Linuxcnc can be made to work with virtually any VFD. Do you have something you use now with Mach3?

There are a number of drivers available for modbus control of a number of popular drives. And if you have some programming skills it isn't to hard to write your own driver or use the generic MB2HAL driver to control any modbus capable drive (which seems to be most of them.) I know there is a driver for Hitachi SJ200 drives, one for a number of Mitsubuishi drives, Automation Direct's GS2 drives, and Toshiba S11 drives. I'm sure there are more drivers out there. A good idea would be to pick a drive you'd like to use, then google the drive model and Linuxcnc, and see what support pops up.

I'm running a bunch of Lenze AC-Tech SCF drives on a 8 spindle gang router using the generic Mb2hal driver. It was a little bit of a pain to set up. But it works.
The following user(s) said Thank You: devxpy

More
04 Jun 2017 21:04 - 04 Jun 2017 21:12 #94059 by devxpy
No, currently i just use the cw and ccw pins to operate my spindle using a relay.