Incorrect Axis Motion

More
17 Jul 2017 08:19 - 17 Jul 2017 23:06 #95871 by sanmd
Incorrect Axis Motion was created by sanmd
Hello.

I'm currently attempting to fix up a machine that a few people have worked on before me and left no documentation so what everything I know is here unfortunately. I've tried to run this machine and have come across some interesting behavior related to its motion. When I manually move the quill, the axis on which I want it to move is not the axis on which it moves. I've attached an image with the operation I tried to perform and the result I got. I assumed it was a wiring problem so I went back and traced all the wires as best I could (some were shrouded) and they all seem to be attached correctly. I also checked the .hal file and I think it's correct (I'm new to all this).

Next, I went back into the stepconf and used that to test each axis and saw some really strange behavior. I would have assumed to see the same results as manual but got something completely different. I've also attached an image of these results below along with the hal and ini files.

A little background on the machine: it has two x-axis motors, one y-axis, and one z-axis. All motors are from Oriental motors and the breakout board is the cnc4pc c10 rev 10 board. Please let me know if there are any other questions. Any help in figuring out what's happening would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Edit: In the "Front" image, the x-axis is left to right, y-axis is into the image, and the z-axis is down to up.
Last edit: 17 Jul 2017 23:06 by sanmd. Reason: Added machine pictures and descriptions.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jul 2017 11:20 #95878 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic Incorrect Axis Motion
Could you post a photo of the actual machine?

More
17 Jul 2017 17:01 #95928 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Incorrect Axis Motion