Connect 2 toolsetters to linuxcnc - new to this forum

More
15 Aug 2017 00:04 #97488 by Marcodi
Hello,

I am completely new to linuxcnc and just testing out its possibilities for a new machine being build. I just want to be in control of my controller this time :). Use is professional.

Second reason is to see how active this forum is and if there is a good base for help out there.
Cause my idea is : alone is just alone and far more difficult.

Is it possible in linuxcnc to connect 2 different tool height setters? I want to set one tool height setters fixed on my tablebed and use another tool height setter to find the height of the workpiece.

I would program a macro to calculate the height difference after a tool change so that after a tool change I can just use the fixed tool height setter to zero out the new tool in comparison to the previous tool.

Is something like this possible in linuxcnc. (I am not scared of the c++ programming needed.)

Anybody wrote a macro like this already?

Thanks

Stephane

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Aug 2017 03:48 - 15 Aug 2017 04:12 #97491 by Roc