SETUP OF MESA 5I20/7I29 FOR DC SERVO MOTORS

More
21 Jul 2011 02:40 #11700 by NICKKINSMAN
Hello;

I'm brand new to EMC, having purchsed a Cadillac NC100 lathe partway thru rebiling using this system.

The machine has DC servo motors with 3 channel encoders (A/B/Index - 1054 counts/rev). I have the 5i20 hooked up to a 7i29 to run the servos, and a 7i37TA for the in/out puts for limit switches/etc. I have just completed terminating everything and am trying to get some movement out of the servos. I figured out the MESA setup screen finally and believe I have everything together properly.

EMC is loaded and appears to be running fine, but I appear to be having trouble getting it linked into the MESA cards. Upon computer startup, the 5I20 board has red indicator lights running, but as soon as run EMC, or try to enable the axis for testing on the PnCConf, they shut off.

I am wondering if there is some critical step on setting up the MESA boards, or some specific selection needs to be made/paramaters included in PnCConf in order to run these type of servo's. I am not very familiar with the terminology in the servo setup section on PnCConf - mostly the P/I/D area, the rest I can get. I tried the manual, but it only appears to describe the PnCConf program, not what the selections are doing/mean.

Appreciate any help!

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jul 2011 04:18 #11703 by PCW
Sounds right
The red lights indicate that the FPGA is _not_ configured. Since they have been extinguished, this indicates that the FPGA has been properly configured .
(EMC2 would not run if it did not detect that the proper configuration had been loaded)

More
21 Jul 2011 05:48 - 21 Jul 2011 05:49 #11704 by cmorley
What version of EMC are you using?
Can you do an open loop test in pncconf and check that there is output from the 7i29.
you could also confirm the encoder counts from that test too.

Yes the manual is incomplete and a little out of date.