pncconf with 5i25 and 7i77 and I need analog outs

More
15 Feb 2016 18:02 #70174 by djs14
Hello all,

I've ran pncconf and got my files generated but I'm getting the following error:

parameter or pin 'scale.spindle.gain' not found

I'm a total newbie to this hardware and to Linux so appreciate any input even if it's the most basic feedback :).

I can see the value in the HAL file. Is something kicking the file out before it reads the line perhaps?

I should probably post my HAL file or is there other things for me to fool around with?

Also, my X and Z drives require +/- 10v inputs so it looks like I blew it and got the wrong hardware. Any suggestions on what I should buy additionally to get this running? I'm working on a large lathe with a tool turret/changer.

Best regards all!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Feb 2016 18:45 - 15 Feb 2016 18:51 #70176 by PCW
The 7I77 is an appropriate card for analog servos ( +-10V )

You will probably need to post your hal and ini filed here for someone to debug them

I would also upgrade to the latest LinuxCNC version ( 2.7.4 )so you have the latest PnCConf
Last edit: 15 Feb 2016 18:51 by PCW.

More
15 Feb 2016 19:17 #70180 by djs14

The 7I77 is an appropriate card for analog servos ( +-10V )

You will probably need to post your hal and ini filed here for someone to debug them

I would also upgrade to the latest LinuxCNC version ( 2.7.4 )so you have the latest PnCConf

Ok I did not see the option for analog output in pncConfig... just PWM ... but I recall something about making a PWM function like a DAC...? How should I proceed there?

I'm attaching my HAL file.

Thanks for the help!

File Attachment:

File Name: MiyanoLathe.hal
File Size:9 KB
Attachments:

More
15 Feb 2016 19:20 #70181 by djs14