Help with Mesa 7i76e Setup for Closed Loop Stepper

More
04 Sep 2017 06:23 #98438 by JJ0704
Howdy,

I apologize in advance, I am a complete noob. I'm new to machining, a CNC neophyte (I've never even seen a CNC machine in person), and the first time I ever used Linux was installing the LinuxCNC Debian 9 (aka Stretch) RT-PREEMPT. Specifically, I am running the distribution from the iso named "linuxcnc-stretch-uspace-amd64-r8.iso ". It has been a fun challenge so far.

I just got my newly acquired Mesa 7i76e controller card and hooked it all up to a power supply and one of my three newly acquired LiChuan closed-loop stepper drivers and matching motor. I am now just trying to see if I can get the one motor to turn by my command before I complete the rest of the wiring and setup on my G0704 mill conversion.

I have added power to the 7i76e via the schematic from Norbert posted on this forum (thank you). I can successfully ping the card and run the mesaflash thingy in the terminal window...so I think I am good with the connection to the computer bit.

I am less confident about my wiring from the 7i76e to the driver. There isn't a whole lot of clear info out there, but what I did was the following:

TB2 PIN 1 (GND) left empty
TB2 PIN 2 (STEP -) wired to Driver PUL-
TB2 PIN 3 (STEP+) left empty
TB2 PIN 4 (DIR-) wired to Driver DIR-
TB2 PIN 5 (DIR+) left empty
TB2 PIN 6 (+5V) wired to Driver both PUL+ and DIR+

Unfortunately, I cannot seem to get the stepper motor to turn at all. I left all of the dip switches as received from the factory, and the motor does hold its position and I can hear it trying to maintain its position when try to turn the shaft by hand. I feel that I may have a LinuxCNC configuration issue because when I ran the PnCConf wizard, after I pressed the "Launch test panel" button on the I/O Connector 1 tab, nothing happens...no windows pop up or anything. Also, further along in the wizard when I press the "Test/Tune Axis" button, I get the following error: