candcnc hardware with linuxcnc

More
21 Oct 2017 04:37 #100604 by PlasmaboyBob
OK, so I'm very new to this plasma cutting technology and I'm trying to switch over from Mach3 to Linuxcnc.
We have a table that has had the CandCNC MP3000 hardware installed on it, I'm trying to find info on the possibilities of using this hardware with Linuxcnc. The interface box has a candcnc breakout board with a DTHC controller in it, the table is using Gecko drives and controller. What are my options here, what changes do I need to make to use this system with Linuxcnc?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Oct 2017 09:47 #100659 by rodw
Replied by rodw on topic candcnc hardware with linuxcnc
The easiest way to migrate to LinuxCNC would be to upgrade your config to CommandCNC which is a version of LinuxCNC developed by CandCNC to run their hardware. Nice and simple.

More
23 Oct 2017 16:01 #100678 by PlasmaboyBob
I guess I might be a little slow here so let me see if I understand you correctly. I have looked at their site and have seen an upgrade for the CommandCNC software, not a full install of it. You said they use a 'version' of LCNC for their hardware. LCNC is running on a Debian os, so does their upgrade work to update that and provide support for their hardware?
From what I've read and the lack of reply from 'them' I'm under the impression that you need to purchase their Linux box in order to get and use CommandCNC. Please tell me which is the correct answer to this puzzle.