spindle display via 7-segment LED

More
16 Jun 2015 10:15 #59866 by russtuff
I just started playing with GladeVCP and in the demo config it has a horizontal bar style spindle readout. I would rather have numbers like your standard 7 segment LED display. Is this possible?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jun 2015 11:23 #59867 by russtuff
I just found this, which is close: gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/gladevcp/gladevcp03.html

I really don't need a dial, just the digits. I'll keep searching.

More
16 Jun 2015 18:02 - 16 Jun 2015 18:03 #59876 by BigJohnT
You can just use a HAL label and set the type to match the number format. Make your HAL connection and your set.

gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/gladevcp/gladevcp04.html

JT
Last edit: 16 Jun 2015 18:03 by BigJohnT.
The following user(s) said Thank You: russtuff

More
16 Jun 2015 20:47 #59882 by russtuff
Awesome, thanks!

More
28 Jun 2015 03:42 #60198 by russtuff
So I've spent about 20 hours farting around with GladeVCP trying to get a label or the meter to pick up the tach signal, and I have made zero progress. I've read the tutorials (gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/gladevcp/index.html) about 100 times and the only thing I've successfully done is get an LED to turn on.

I've dug through the sim files over and over and there is no place I can find where the meter is assigned pin, so I have no idea what the code is to make this work. I've read through the HAL and all other manuals over and over searching for anything that would work, and found nothing. I swear I'm not an idiot, but figuring out HAL pins and GladeVCP is like trying to decode the symbols on the stargate.

More
28 Jun 2015 03:46 #60199 by BigJohnT
Assuming your running Axis open the HAL Configuration window and look at the list of pins. To get a label to update you do need to connect the pins in your hal file.

Read the first section of this:

linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/hal/basic_hal.html