C10 Bidirectional Breakout Board

More
22 Jul 2023 23:58 #276032 by krigby
I'm completely new to LinuxCNC.  I have a kit from Automation Technology (www.automationtechnologiesinc.com/produc...r-2-axis-kit-small-2)  and it seems to me, with my complete lack of experience, that the first thing I need to do is get LinuxCNC configured to with this the breakout board (www.automationtechnologiesinc.com/produc...directional-breakout).
Does anyone have any experience with that breakout board/kit, and can you give me any help getting started with that kit.

Thanks,
Kent

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Jul 2023 00:08 #276033 by tommylight
If you have the kit, no need for the second link.
At any rate, stay off the second link, it is a simple board with nothing in it for 23$, for 5$ it would be ok for testing.
so:
Do you have a PC?
Does that PC have a parallel port? The pink/violet thingy with 25 holes on the back side?
If yes on both, download the official ISO from the download page, write it to a USB (do not copy), boot the PC from that USB, install, reboot.
In the menus there is a StepConf utility that will make setting up the machine a breeze, save, start the config.

More
23 Jul 2023 00:33 - 23 Jul 2023 00:34 #276037 by cornholio
Pretty good wiring diagram they give, if you need any more info on the C10 cnc4pc should have the user guides and what not. I've used a C35 from cnc4pc and I can say it's a quality product and the documentation is good.

Some really good info here

www.automationtechnologiesinc.com/produc...directional-breakout
Last edit: 23 Jul 2023 00:34 by cornholio.

More
11 Aug 2023 11:51 #277633 by krigby
Thanks for the replies. After watching hours of youtube videos (mostly about CNC, but with a cat video or two thrown in) I got my head wrapped most of the way around it all.