Axis Crashes Using Ubuntu 16.04.2 x64, Preempt_RT, and a VM

More
16 Feb 2017 17:27 #88061 by joelittiken
Hello all,

I've been using LinuxCNC for several years now, ever since the LiveCD came with Ubuntu 6.06 I believe, but this happens to be my first time to the forum. I've been trying to get LinuxCNC running on an install of Ubuntu 16.04.2 x64 for the main purpose of better support for more modern hardware from Linux 4.x. Also, I'm pretty fond of Ubuntu and don't really feel a need to change from it.

Anyway, I'm doing some testing in a VirtualBox VM right now and I was able to build the PREEMPT_RT kernal (4.4.47-rt59) and install LinuxCNC without any hassle. When I try to start up any configuration that uses Axis for the display, however, the program crashes and I get this error:
ubuntutest@ubuntutest-VirtualBox:~$ linuxcnc
LINUXCNC - 2.7.8
Machine configuration directory is '/home/ubuntutest/linuxcnc/configs/by_machine.sherline.SherlineLathe'
Machine configuration file is 'SherlineLathe_inch.ini'
Starting LinuxCNC...
Found file(lib): /usr/share/linuxcnc/hallib/core_stepper.hal
Note: Using POSIX realtime
Unexpected realtime delay on task 0
This Message will only display once per session.
Run the Latency Test and resolve before continuing.
Found file(REL): ./standard_pinout.hal
config string '0x0378'
Linux parallel port @888 not found
Linux parallel port @888 not found

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/axis", line 3141, in <module>
    o = MyOpengl(widgets.preview_frame, width=400, height=300, double=1, depth=1)
  File "/usr/bin/axis", line 353, in __init__
    Opengl.__init__(self, *args, **kw)
  File "/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.7/rs274/OpenGLTk.py", line 164, in __init__
    apply(RawOpengl.__init__, (self, master, cnf), kw)
  File "/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.7/rs274/OpenGLTk.py", line 112, in __init__
    Togl.__init__(self, master, cnf, **kw)
  File "/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.7/rs274/OpenGLTk.py", line 38, in __init__