Change nouveau to vesa

More
06 May 2017 05:04 #92727 by npostma
Hi All,

First post so lets introduce myself. I am a beginner in cnc that is building a 3-axis machine.With my current PC it 'runs' but not fast, and the PC is quite slow. Almost stuck when the machine is on. I have linux experience (servers, not desktops). Recently someone donated a new PC for my project (3.4 GHZ i7 32GB nvidea 210gt) and the first latency test is promising. Long time below 2000 (ns) with a occasional spike around 12 000. The old pc had a latency around 40 000. only after i disabled nouveau. Before that it was around 300 000. I know 12 000 is still a good figure, but I want it stable. In my experience the vesa driver will get me there.

I am a little bit stuck. A lot has written about it but not quite the situation I am in. This OS version uses Xorg without a config file. When I try to generate one with Xorg -configure this is what I got: "Number of created screens does not match number of detected devices. Configuration failed."

I've tried to disable nouveau in the modprobe.d but no luck there. How do I get Xorg to generate me a good config that I can modify?

Thanks in advance,

Nick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 May 2017 23:58 #92888 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Change nouveau to vesa
You could try just creating the xorg.conf file by hand, and pasting-in examples from the internet.
It isn't scientific, but you might hit a working file in not too many iterations.

But, frankly, if you set the base thread to 25k the very occasional 12k spike really won't ever be a problem.

More
09 May 2017 17:52 #92939 by npostma
Replied by npostma on topic Change nouveau to vesa
After some testing I found out that the current driver is vesa. Adding only nouveau in the xorg.conf gives me a black screen with a blinking cursor.

The strage thing is that my max resolution with vesa is 800x600. How do I get a better resolution?

More