Controlling temperature of reprap extruder hot-end

More
19 Sep 2011 08:35 #13283 by fma
Hi there,

I'm new to EMC. I plan to use it to drive my reprap Prusa Mendel, using this motor driver:

cgi.ebay.fr/4-Axis-TB6560-CNC-Stepper-Mo...-Board-/250879810408

The reprap also has a hot-end which needs to be driven through special G-codes. Reading the 'integrator manual', I was wondering if it could not be possible to control the hot-end temperature through the parallel port. I have several ideas in mind:

1) Using a smart external temperature controller

Some people already have build such system. The controller is driven through a serial line. Some python modules has been developed to handle specific G-codes to drive the hot-end. The controller receives a temperature setup, and manage the power to keep the hot-end at that temperature.

But instead of driving it though a different port, it is maybe possible to use the parallel port:

1.a) pwm/analog output

I read that it is possible to turn a pin into an analog output. I guess it is by setting it up as a PWM, and by adding simple external components (capacitor?). This analog output could be used as temperature setup for the controller. But is it accurate enough? And is it reliable? As there is no feedback...

1.b) bit banging

This configuration is more or less similar to the original ide, but instead of using a standard serial port, it is maybe possible to use some bits of the parallel port, and do bit banging to emulate a synchronous (SPI/I²C or so) serial port. This setup will be more accurate. Don't know if it is possible to read back something using bit banging as input...

2) using a dumb external controller

2.a) pwm/analog output, encoder input