Use of STEP-NC with LinuxCNC

More
01 Nov 2015 05:28 #64563 by AtinA
Dear Members.

Greetings. First post ever on LinuxCNC forum! I am relatively new to machining, so kindly condone my lack of knowledge in the area.

I would like to implement STEP-NC format on LinuxCNC. I have found a toolkit online (code.google.com/p/iso-14649-toolkit/ ) which allows me to convert STEP-NC to canonical machining commands (CMCs) directly. Is it possible for me to use these commands to drive a CNC machine? From what I have understood so far LinuxCNC needs G-code as an input to drive the CNC machines .

Thanks a lot!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Nov 2015 18:47 #64573 by BigJohnT
You are correct LinxuCNC uses G code as an input.

JT

More
01 Nov 2015 18:54 - 01 Nov 2015 18:59 #64575 by ArcEye
Replied by ArcEye on topic Use of STEP-NC with LinuxCNC

I would like to implement STEP-NC format on LinuxCNC.

Linuxcnc uses ISO 6983/RS274D G-codes, so without rewriting the entire parser / interpreter you cannot.

If you have a lot of STEP-NC code you wish to use, the best you could do would be to write a conversion program that turns the ISO 10303 STEP code back to RS274, but thereby losing all the advantages of the former.

I have found a toolkit online (code.google.com/p/iso-14649-toolkit/ ) which allows me to convert STEP-NC to canonical machining commands (CMCs) directly.
Is it possible for me to use these commands to drive a CNC machine?

Undoubtedly, but you will be writing your own controller, not using Linuxcnc.

It is an interesting toolkit which I must look at properly, but what it is giving you

2. A parser for STEP Part 21 files.
3. A simple stand-alone parser/printer.
4. An ISO 14649 interpreter for 3-axis machining.

are C++ classes to build a controller, not anything that will assist you use Linuxcnc, unless you use them as the basis for a complete rewrite (and it certainly needs it).