(NEWBIE) How to use an (Fanuc) AC Spindle servo motor for an DIY CNC router

More
11 Mar 2017 17:21 #89426 by denhen89
Hello everyone,
my name is Denis and its my first thread/post here.

In near future (1-3month) i want to start build an "fixed gantry" CNC router for machining Steel and Aluminium. Unfortunately i have no experience at all, at least no practical. (just reading all the time about milling and cnc for about one and half month)

I want to make this post as short as possible, because i dont think it makes much sense to write about my whole idea. Usually i try always to solve my problems without asking for others (looking for information through google), but im really stuck at this for at least 4 days and i really need help. I have already ask that same thing in cnczone and in an polish cnc forum, but i get no answer or no help, so maybe you are my last chance and to be honest even if it will take at least 1-3 month before start, i would like already no if that is possible to realize or not. I would like to learn Solidworks by drawing the cnc router, but due to this problem i see no sense to start.

So, here what i want ask:
Is it possible to use an year 1995 - Fanuc AC Spindle motor on an new system which runs with LinuxCNC ? I mean, without the original boards, drives, etc..? That is exactly the spindle motor: Fanuc 3S-12000 Its an 4 pole, 3phase, 3,7kw / 5.5kw, 1.500rpm - 12.000 rpm AC spindle motor with over 20Nm torque. The parameters (rpm, power, torque) are just perfect for what i plan to do (steel and aluminium machining) and this motor should be connected through an chain or strong belt to an ATC BT30 Belt drive Spindle with max. 12.000 rpm. In future i want to have that option to do rigid tapping and have an ATC.