PID Tuning section in EMC integrator manual

More
07 Jul 2011 05:55 #11206 by kostas
Hi all,

I'm a beginner in PID, so I am experimenting on manual tuning and saw that the most easy way for me to tune was:
1) increase P until output oscillates
2) increase D until output stabilizes
3) increase I to get to the set point quicker

The integrators manual has a similar description, but with I and D interchanged. I was wondering if this is a typo in the manual, since increasing I after P does not help with oscillation. Or am I doing something wrong?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jul 2011 11:37 #11219 by BigJohnT
That section of the manual was based on some information that I believe to be reliable. If you didn't notice the footer note:

This Subsection is taken from an much more extensive article found at en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PID_controller

Someplace I have more info on tuning that includes FF1 I think... I need to find that and update the manual.

John

More
07 Jul 2011 11:52 #11222 by kostas
Ok John thanks. That would be very helpful.

I had seen the footnote, but didn't try it. Seems that it describes a slightly different method. I'll try it this way to see if it makes any difference.

More
09 Jul 2011 23:38 #11339 by jmelson
kostas wrote:

Hi all,

I'm a beginner in PID, so I am experimenting on manual tuning and saw that the most easy way for me to tune was:
1) increase P until output oscillates
2) increase D until output stabilizes
3) increase I to get to the set point quicker

The integrators manual has a similar description, but with I and D interchanged. I was wondering if this is a typo in the manual, since increasing I after P does not help with oscillation. Or am I doing something wrong?

I put a page in the wiki about servo tuning. See
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/emcinfo.pl?PWM_Servo_Amplifiers