Test/Tune Axis in pncconf

More
27 Aug 2011 21:41 #12776 by fgauder
I'm new to Linux, EMC2, and forums so I apologize if this post ends up in the wrong place. I converted a three axis mill from an Anilam M controller to EMC2 using a Mesa 5i20 with 7i33 and 7i37 daughter cards. I used PnCConf to configure them and was making parts a couple days after receiving the cards.

I hope that's an encouragement to anyone thinking about trying this. Those responsible have done a good job of providing information and PCW at Mesa quickly responded to all the hardware questions I had at the beginning.

Now, I'll admit that even though I can make parts, the mill is not yet close to what it was with the Anilam controller. I haven't been able to configure the I/O board so I have handled all of that manually. Also, i haven't been able to tune the drives, so I have a 1" rapid and .5" feed following error set and I use a G4 P1 command after each move to allow the drive time to catch up. So, I'm sure it will only get better from here.

In PnCConf I was able to use the "Open Loop Servo Test" to verify directions and encoder scaling. It worked well for all three axes. However, when I press the "Test/Tune Axis" button for any axis, I get a pop-up warning that says, "Servo Tuning Is Not Finished". What am I missing or doing wrong?

As for I/O, all of the mill's control logic is done on the common side of a 24 VDC power supply. To start with, I would like to have one NO contact that closes with the "Toggle Machine Power" or F2 buttons in Axis. This would enable the drives. Also, I would like one NC in series with the Axis e-stop circuit. It is embarrassing to admit that I haven't been able to even come close to making this happen.

Any help, direction, or guidance will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Frank

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Aug 2011 21:53 #12777 by cmorley