Bridgeport Series II Interact 2 Conversion

More
17 May 2012 14:37 #20177 by KPA
Hello all,
I'm starting my conversion of Bridgeport S2I2 Mill with a Heidenhain TNC 145C controller. This machine uses resolvers on the servo's rather than digital encoders. Within the TNC 145C there is a board that provides the A-D conversion. Not being an electrical engineer I don't think I have enough skills/tools to reverse engineer that circuit board to use the A-D function. Though I know others have with TNC 151 controllers and I find that nothing short of amazing.

By tools I mean scope and benchtop power supply, etc. I wonder if I should pick these up to help the conversion along.

So as I start the process my first question is: Is there any machine performance difference between using the existing resolvers and a Mesa 5i33 / 7i49 boards or switching them out to quad encoders and using something like a 5i20 / 7i33 combo.

There is an existing MPG that also plugs into the A-D board - I imagine it will also be a resolver type - not sure yet.

Thanks

Jay

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 May 2012 15:24 #20180 by andypugh
KPA wrote:

I'm starting my conversion of Bridgeport S2I2 Mill with a Heidenhain TNC 145C controller. This machine uses resolvers on the servo's rather than digital encoders.

Are you sure you mean "Resolver" and not "Tachometer"?
If you use the original drives this may not be a problem. I would guess that the machine has glass scales on the axes for position feedback?
Is yours the same as this one?
igor.chudov.com/projects/Bridgeport-Seri...Interact-2-CNC-Mill/

It looks like he removed the original drives and fitted encoders, but that is not the only way, and probably isn't the easiest way.

More
17 May 2012 15:41 #20183 by KPA
The mill is simliar to Igor's and John's ( machineability.com/Bridgeport_series_II.html ).