Intallation freeze (detecting linc eth0)

More
01 Oct 2017 17:10 #99740 by DanWah
Hello,

I'm new to the forum and just about to install linuxCNC. Unfortunately I stumbled on to troubles before I even got the chance to finish the installation. I'm completely new to linux by the way.

The installation freezes when it comes to: "detecting link on eth0; not ready".

I have a really old computer (10+ years), which I'm intending to use to control my CNC-project. On this computer I'm normally using windows XP. The computer is not connected to the internet (or any network at all)

I have another internet-connected computer where I have downloaded the linuxcnc-2.7-wheezy ISO file. This file I've put on a bootable USB flash drive via the program rufus. Thru this USB I've tried both the "installation graphical" and "installation text", as well as the live startup but it always gets stuck on the eth0 not ready. Nothing happens, and I have let it stay there for an hour. I did also try to connect a network cable to the computer and it still didn't work. (I have tried the network cable on another computer and it works just fine).

Anyone faced the same issue? I would prefer to keep this computer off the internet, but of course I can connect the cable if it's absolutely necessary. Again, I'm completely new on linux, but I would love some help in this jungle.

Thanks and best regards
Daniel

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Oct 2017 22:12 #99869 by andypugh
I think that the current LinuxCNC ISO actually _needs_ a network connection. (I don't think this was deliberate).

However, you say that you have tried that....

Does that computer connect with XP? (Probably too late to tell now if you are half-way through an installation).

A WiFi dongle might work. (if you have WiFi)

More
04 Oct 2017 19:55 #99936 by DanWah