× Forum Header

Error during setup Z to run Blacktooth laser

More
27 Oct 2015 09:18 #64333 by ubergeek
I want to start by saying I am very new to LinuxCNC. I am a n00b at best. But I found a lot of posts on here and other forums that have taught me a lot in setting up my Blacktooth Laser CNC.
Now to the error I am getting. I have tried several times to set up the blacktooth to run but it will not fire the laser via the Z direction on pin 6. I am able to move in both x and y easily but the M in the code is not making the laser fire. I connected a multimeter to the x and y and i am getting a 5 volt pulse but the Z is not getting anything. The wires check out to as i ran completely different wires.
I went through the stepconf setup again and same issue. I decided to go down a version of LinuxCNC from Debian to Ubuntu based hoping that it would also rule out a bad copy but the same issue happens.
When i run the stepconfig again i try to "Test" the Z in the Z setup box and i get this error (see picture) on any and all versions of LinuxCNC i try. I am very certain that it is a setting somewhere but i am running out of ideas. Any help will be great. Thank you in advance for your time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Oct 2015 14:09 #64339 by ArcEye
Your configuration is incorrect.

I would suspect that you have not set the variables which allow scale to be calculated, so it still has the default python 'None' value.

scale = data[axis + "scale"]

This is a python error, nothing to do with wiring.

If you cannot resolve it yourself by filling out the boxes properly before trying to test, you will have to post your config for anyone to be able to help you further

regards

More
27 Oct 2015 18:17 - 27 Oct 2015 18:25 #64345 by ubergeek
ArcEye Thank you for the reassurance that it is a setting. I have been spinning my wheels for a little while now and knowing that i don't have to check the wires again helps already.