Help choosing mesa daughterboards

More
05 Dec 2021 17:35 #228393 by Gork
Hello! This is my first time posting here. I tried reading as much as i could before writing and would appreciate any help!
I'm building a cnc machine and decided to go with Linuxcnc as the best option. But I am a bit lost on how to choose daughter boards and how to configure them. Right now I have mesa 7i76e, configured it and was able to rotate my stepper motor. Motors are closed loop steppers, but right now encoder is connected to driver board. (Motors are chinese NEMA 34 12Nm, with blue chinese driver HBS860H which is clone of Leadshine HBS86H if I understand correctly). As I understand, it is beneficial to close loop through Linuxcnc. As mesa 7i76e board has only 1 encoder and its used for spindle, I will need expansion for encoders.
Machine planned set up is as follows:
3 axis- 2 stepper motors for every axis (6 step/dir, 6 encoders?)
1 spindle- servo spindle with rigid tapping
and possibly linear encoders (3 encoders?)

Which daughter boards should i choose? I read that 7i85S is suitable, but i would need 2 of those. Which way is documentation about how to set up something like this? Or maybe there is some other solution?
Are linear encoders advised?\

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Dec 2021 18:03 #228395 by tommylight
A single 7i77 has 6 encoder inputs so check if it comes cheaper than 2 of 7i85.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Gork

More
05 Dec 2021 18:26 #228400 by PCW
I would suggest that encoder feedback from step/dir drives is not very
useful unless its from linear encoders. Also most closed loop step/dir
do not provide and encoder output so you would need to tap onto the
existing encoder/drive connection. This is not a good idea electrically
because the drives encoder input ground is almost always the motor
power ground (which is very noisy)

More
06 Dec 2021 02:10 #228413 by Michael
"1 spindle- servo spindle with rigid tapping