Hardware vs Software Stepping.

More
05 Dec 2022 04:32 #258558 by FrantisekP
Hi I'm new to LinuxCNC 
I'm working on refitting and Old Laguna IQ router with a Mesa 7i96s card to replace the RichAuto A11 controller it originally came with. I would like to replace the single yaxis ball screw with a dual Y ball screw setup and add a rotary 4th axis.  The 5 port 7i96s looks like it should do the trick.    

Sorry if this has been covered before. There is so much great information in this forum it hard to sort through it.    
I've searched and read through what I could find on the topic of hardware vs software stepping, I still have a few questions.

Am I right in assuming the following? :

1) Software stepping is used on systems where the PC uses a parallel port. The pulse and direction signals for each stepper are mapped to individual lines of the parallel port connector. That parallel port is then connected to a Break Out Board (BOB) which feeds the step and direction lines to the stepper drivers.   The PC needs to be configured for low latency because it's processor has to accurately time and schedule all of the pulses (setp and dir) for all of the axes that are expected to move together.  

2) Hardware stepping is used on systems where there is an external ( lan or USB)  or internal (PCI) card with an FPGA or uProcessor that is in charge of generating the the step and dir pulses. The PC communicates something like how many pulses and the pulse rate required. In this system configuration the MAX Jitter in the base thread is not as critical since the pulse generation is off loaded to the external card.

3) The Mesa 7i96s card that I have ordered is a hardware stepping card. It can generate pulses up to a rate of 10MHz that are shared across the 5 ports as directed by LinuxCNC. In theory, if all ports are asked to run as fast as they can each port would see pulse trains at a rate of 2MHz.