Flood victim retrofit.

More
15 Jul 2022 09:48 #247360 by M4MazakUser
Starting on a flood victim retrofit. Just got a shenzing?? 
8" chuck with tailstock etc (2007). It was 4m under water. Looking at salvaging what we can. The servo motors and spindle motor etc.im not to interested in saving most of the control stuff and will swap most things for mesa. More pictures and progress to follow. 
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jul 2022 10:38 #247362 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Flood victim retrofit.
I would expect the motors to be fine, they are well sealed.
Even if they got water in them, not much silt would have got in.

You might as well clean off the control stuff and see if it immediately goes "pop" then see what you have left at the end.

More
15 Jul 2022 11:20 #247370 by M4MazakUser
Replied by M4MazakUser on topic Flood victim retrofit.
Yeah, I'm not that experienced with fanuc drives and interfacing to them, I'll strip them and clean them, but from what I've read so far, it may be easier to replace them with mesa drives. I could be wrong but I've read that the fanuc motors with the red caps have normal encoders fitted.

More
15 Jul 2022 12:22 #247373 by andypugh
The pinouts of the encoders are linked at the bottom of pico-systems.com/fanuc_pins.html
(Note that the tables at the top are for the Pico red-cap converter board)

If using Mesa drives (eg 8i20) then I think that you would do the conversion in software / HAL with the "bldc" component as the 8i20 needs commutation data from HAL anyway.

More
19 Jul 2022 10:02 #247755 by M4MazakUser
So... as far as connection, if the fanuc drives work, I can supply them with +10v/-10v and connect the encoder thru a mesa card???

More
19 Jul 2022 10:08 #247756 by andypugh

So... as far as connection, if the fanuc drives work, I can supply them with +10v/-10v and connect the encoder thru a mesa card???