tool offsets kicking my butt !

More
14 Apr 2017 08:48 - 14 Apr 2017 08:50 #91346 by cut2cut
How does one simply, by hand, manually add tool lengths ( tool plus holder ) to the tool table and have it compensate with the Z axis when the Z zero is set with a designated tool ( for example a Haimer 3d centering device in a tool holder ).

If the Haimer is say, 6.5 inches, where does this "offset" get input properly. So far, I'm not having any luck with (Linuxcnc 2.7) with regard to tool offsets. What the heck am I missing !?!!?!

My only excuse is, I'm a noob that only has experience with Mach 3, arrrgh, my butt is getting kicked by this, and it should be simple !

Jake
Last edit: 14 Apr 2017 08:50 by cut2cut.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Apr 2017 12:58 - 14 Apr 2017 13:02 #91361 by Todd Zuercher
If your Z0 is a tool length of 6.5" the tool offset should be equal to however much longer or shorter your tool is. So if T1 is 7" the T1 offset should be +0.5, if it is 6" then it would be -0.5.
You can enter this number either by directly entering the tool table, or after the tool is loaded using the tool touch button (in the Axis UI.) or using a G10L1 command linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/g-code.html#gcode:g10-l1

Don't forget you have to enable the tool length offsets by issuing a G43 (Hn) command in the g-code after the tool is loaded for the offset to take effect.
Last edit: 14 Apr 2017 13:02 by Todd Zuercher.

More
14 Apr 2017 16:53 - 14 Apr 2017 16:54 #91368 by cut2cut

If your Z0 is a tool length of 6.5" the tool offset should be equal to however much longer or shorter your tool is. So if T1 is 7" the T1 offset should be +0.5, if it is 6" then it would be -0.5.
You can enter this number either by directly entering the tool table, or after the tool is loaded using the tool touch button (in the Axis UI.) or using a G10L1 command linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/g-code.html#gcode:g10-l1