key board issue

More
16 Apr 2017 15:45 #91457 by chelseafan
key board issue was created by chelseafan
Im new to linux and i havnt really got a clue what im doing yet. Ive bought a triac and orac and both are running on linux cnc. I powered the triac up the other night and it appears to have more than one linux OS on the machine. the first one would not boot properly. I tried two usb keyboards and neither would work and let me select the other OS. I found an old PS2 key board and connected that and it worked in letting me cursor down and select the other OS. this seemed to boot better but it stops with the messge its in restore mode, giving me options for maintenance and load default ect. The issue is i cant type anything to select any of these options. Enter works but nothing else on the keyboard.

So far ive been doing this with the mesa card out of the expansion slot could this be why i boots into restore mode? or how to sort the keyboard issue out.

thanks
andy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Apr 2017 17:03 #91463 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic key board issue
What is writen on the screen when you choose what to start?
What exactly does it say in restore mode?
If you can choose what to boot, the keyboard is working.
Computer should start without the Mesa card, Linuxcnc will not start without it, if configured so.
Take some pictures and attach them here.

More
17 Apr 2017 04:14 #91495 by rodw
Replied by rodw on topic key board issue
There is probably a BIOS setting that needs to be enabled to let a USB keyboard be seen. I had this problem when I first installed the LinuxCNC .ISO. (And I did not have a ps2 keyboard anywhere!)

More
17 Apr 2017 11:23 #91506 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic key board issue
That is USB legacy mode in most BIOS settings. That is also required for booting from USB devices. Most motherboards have that set to AUTO by default.