kinematics getting started for dummies?

More
02 May 2017 19:00 #92534 by cncmark
New to the linuxcnc, been using mach3, and considered converting several times. Now I have a new project.

Found a robot in scrap yard, Looks like a Faunc 510, SCARA arm.
I would like to get this running as a routing table, but am unsure of the kinematics.

Joint 0= base and is Z
Joint 1= base and rotates 360
Joint 2= first arm joint rotates 300
Joint 3= second arm joint, rotates 720
The 3 rotating axis are in same orientation.

I have looked at several KINS files that have been posted, but I have no idea what is going on in these, or what type of robot they are for.

Is there a "kinematics getting started for dummies" I am not good at trig, but given enough time, maybe.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 May 2017 08:13 #92563 by cncmark
Found this at MIT - Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The first robot described is close to what I am getting. "Planar Kinematics" Just have to add a Z to the base.
I have read this lecture note several times now, Think I am getting a grasp on the math involved.

Now to figure out how to program kinematics. Or is there a kinematics like this?

More
03 May 2017 13:27 - 03 May 2017 13:28 #92576 by bkt
in master there is scarakins jet .... read the file for setting the right arm lenght ... than from your hal file remove
#loadrt trivkins
loadrt scarakins /* control the exact name .... not shure*/
setp firstarmlenght etc etc ....

and read these doc first
Lcnc-KINS

regards
giorgio
Last edit: 03 May 2017 13:28 by bkt.
The following user(s) said Thank You: cncmark

More
04 May 2017 06:32 #92619 by cncmark
Thanks. I was reading the docs, and didn't see the manual underneath. I was wondering why everything was so vague. Reading the manual now. I had many more questions, but now I think I may be OK.

More
04 May 2017 07:38 - 04 May 2017 16:47 #92621 by bkt