Nature of LinucCNC

More
03 May 2017 07:29 #92562 by aninventor
I am a total newbie to Linux so some very basic confusion on my part.

Is LinuxCNC an application program that runs on top of a generic linux operating system of my choice, and if so how does it install a RTOS in that op system?

OR

Is it an operating system with an RTOS that installs itself in a new partition and an application program that then installs and runs on that operating system?
and if so,
What distribution is that operating system based on?

Do all distributions use the same linux kernel and the same GNU (except for the specific release version) or do different distributions modify the kernel and the GNU included in them or even substitute something else in their place?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 May 2017 11:42 #92568 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic Nature of LinucCNC
LInuxcnc is a program that has to be ran on a special real time OS. (for machine control) It can however be ran for simulation purposes on an ordinary version of Linux.

The real time OS is an ordinary version of Linux who's kernel (the main under pinnings of the OS) has been patched (modified) to provide a real time environment for programs requiring it.

Right now Linuxcnc supports two different versions of real time patched kernels, RTAI and Preempt-RT. Depending on your situation, and hardware you want to control, one or the other may be preferred.
The following user(s) said Thank You: aninventor

More
03 May 2017 18:45 #92592 by aninventor
Replied by aninventor on topic Nature of LinucCNC
Thanks - a very concise and to the point answer.

1) Can this LinuxCNC RTOS with the patched kernel also run any other normal Linux programs as would any other normal Linux OS distro that had a kernel that was not patched to be an RTOS?