Creating G-Code

More
23 Jun 2017 10:03 #94825 by Huttojbhutt
Creating G-Code was created by Huttojbhutt
Hey All.

I have been using my hobby CNC 2040T for a few months now and getting really good results on creating PCB boards.

I use Fritzing to create the gerber files, then FlatCam to create the G-Code and finally AutoLevel to ensure the dept is correct, This process seems to work - alittle long but getting good results to produce my own PCBs.

Now I'm looking alittle further to create writing and drawing engraving - When I use FlatCam on writing, it seems to follow the outline on the lettering and it ends up a blob.... Is there a simple but good (FREE) application I can use to engrave drawing and writing. How will I create them?

Jason

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Jun 2017 10:58 #94829 by grump
Replied by grump on topic Creating G-Code
Look here. www.scorchworks.com I use all his tools without issue on my 3020T.
The fonts you're using is more the issue you're having with lettering.
Either centre trace the digits or use single line fonts Ie stickfont, cncfont etc.

More
24 Jun 2017 00:54 #94871 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Creating G-Code

When I use FlatCam on writing, it seems to follow the outline on the lettering and it ends up a blob.... Is there a simple but good (FREE) application I can use to engrave drawing and writing. How will I create them?

This is possibly more about the fonts than the CAM package. You might need "stick" fonts.

wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Simple...t_Engraving_Software

Might work for you, and you might already find that dxf2gcode is installed on your system.

(try opening a dxf file in LinuxCNC, see if it actually opens it)

More
25 Jun 2017 11:21 #94917 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Creating G-Code
I might not have meant dxf2gcode. (though that is probably a useful tool)

I think I was thinking of "true-type tracer"
www.timeguy.com/cradek/truetype