Wear compensation for milling

More
23 Jun 2017 14:14 #94841 by S0lidw0rks
I'm new to linux I have limited Haas and Fanuc experience. Can some one show me an example of linux tool wear programming. It seems to require code i am not familiar with. I have tried to piece it together from other suggestions but with no success.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jun 2017 01:00 #94872 by andypugh
There are a few ways to do this.

For example HSMWorks for inventor offers 3 options:

1) In the CAM. all paths are based on the CAM package opinion of the tool diameter. The CAM is tool-centre code.
2) In the controller, the CAM sends material outline paths and G42 commands, LinuxCNC offsets the path by the tool diameter from the tool table.
3) Both. The CAM sends material profiles _and_ G42 commands, and the tool-table diameters in the LinuxCNC tool table are added as wear corrections.

2a) No CAM package knows this, but G43.1 can be used to tweak a nominal tool diameter.

More
26 Jun 2017 13:29 #94989 by S0lidw0rks
I have read about the G42 variations and other unique code for Linux but have struggled to get it to run properly. Do you have an example of machine code with G42 and associated lines of code so I can have a starting point. I only need to see it once.

More
27 Jun 2017 12:21 #95034 by andypugh

I have read about the G42 variations and other unique code for Linux but have struggled to get it to run properly. Do you have an example of machine code with G42 and associated lines of code so I can have a starting point. I only need to see it once.

I don't think that G40, G41, G42 is specific to Linux, it is one of the more standard G-codes.

Have you seen the code examples here: linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/gcode/tool-co...:cutter-compensation ?

More
27 Jun 2017 13:33 #95047 by Todd Zuercher