Using LinuxCNC to control 3 stepper motors concurrently

More
17 Jul 2017 07:18 #95868 by MattMethods
Hi all,

I'm new to CNC programming and would like some advice for my Final Year project for my engineering degree.

I am building an experiment that needs to drive 3 stepper motors concurrently. The three motors will be used to drive 3 omnidirectional wheels, which in turn drive a larger metal sphere, similar to a ballbot experiment. I need to be able to set the motors to each operate at a certain speed (incredibly slow, somewhere in the order of 3-5RPM) for a set time x to drive the metal sphere in one axis, then be able to change speed and direction for another set period of time y to drive the metal sphere in another axis.

From my understanding, I need a program that will use a parallel port to output a certain number of pulses per second for each axis to control the speed and direction of the three stepper motors.

Will linuxCNC work using G-code for the operation of the experiment? Or is it possible to use another form of code to output x amount of impulses per second per axis for a certain amount of time within linuxCNC? Or should I look to a different software package altogether to control the experiment?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jul 2017 16:06 #95915 by andypugh
I think that LinuxCNC would be _my_ first choice for this, but I am very familiar with LinuxCNC.

Let's start at the other end of the problem. How would you _like_ to control the machine?

More
17 Jul 2017 23:14 - 18 Jul 2017 03:26 #95948 by MattMethods
Sorry, what do you mean by control the machine?

If you're referring to the actual drivers, I've got a small CNC kit found here oceancontrols.com.au/CNC-042.html where the driver is connected to the computer via a db25 cable, which receives information on direction and pulse from the computer and then sends that to each of the 3 motors individually.