Machine Stutter / Notching Phenomenon

More
01 Dec 2020 11:50 - 03 Dec 2020 12:16 #190748 by AlexDoran
Hello everyone,

I am new to LinuxCNC and thanks to the help of people here and on the Facebook page i have managed to get everything working as i had it previously on my DDCSV1.1 Standalone Controller - LinuxCNC is much better for me and i love the functionality of gmocappy on my Touchscreen Display.

One problem i am facing with the machine, is that i have some kind of stutter when it is moving, im not sure if the machine losing steps, but if it is i am unable to see this in the surface finish / any dimensional indication on the (one) part i have run so far.

Abit about my setup:

Computer: static.acer.com/up/Resource/Acer/Docs/NZ...0ESS%20PPT%201.4.pdf
Drives are Leadshine AM882's Using x4 Microstepping
XY Have 1610 Ballscrews
Z Has 1605 Ballscrew
Nema 34's

G Code is from Solidworks / HSM Express using the ECM Post - Seems Fine.

I ran a latency test overnight and my max came out at ~24k, however it was not doing much at this time.

I opened Firefox etc and it eradically jumped to ~43k for a split second - i would never use this computer to online usually and especially not whilst running toolpaths.

I have the base period currently set at 40k, however this did not seem to improve anything.

I have no idea how to tune any of the Latency / Period settings.

I have disabled anything Power Saving related in the BIOS, Disabled Audio etc.

Im not sure if this computer is suitable or not. I can use another maybe.

I attached a picture and have highlighted in red where the stutters have occurred during a facing toolpath. This was a 1mm DOC Pass in HDPE @ 1250mm/min - It cuts like butter.

I also have a video but it is pretty hard to hear the notching, you can hear it if you listen closely.

This happens regardless of if the spindle is on or off, it happens both when jogging manually and also when running code.

Video: YouTube Video

Any help is greatly appreciated.