Issue Configuring Blue 7w Laser with Chinese 5 Axis BOB

More
07 Dec 2020 14:19 #191309 by AntimatterAnimals
Hey,

I've searched high and low for an answer to this but have become completely stuck. I set up a CNC in LinuxCNC using Stepconf earlier this year. It was simple and I had very few issues, because of this I have no real experience editing HAL and INI files. I have since been running the machine absolutely fine. I now want to add a laser to the machine (I am aware that there are limitations), but am having no luck at all. I have the standard 5 axis Chinese breakout board with the blue relay. I have connected the laser to the 10v + and - outputs which are usually used for analog spindle speed control. There is no pin number given to these pinouts so I'm not sure where to tell LinuxCNC to send speed control information. On this board pin 1 is used for PWM so I have tried setting speed control to pin 1 (hoping that by magic the board would know what to do), the machine shows me a spindle speed window and the speed bar moves up and down but the output at these pins sits around 1.5V. I have 24V and USB power powering the board. Because of my lack of experience with HAL configuring every time I read something that might help I try it and then immediately delete it because when I open LinuxCNC I get an error. My main concern is getting a controlled output of 0-10V from these pins, although any laser help is welcomed.

I have attached my HAL and INI files.

Thanks!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Dec 2020 14:44 - 07 Dec 2020 14:45 #191310 by bevins
Try this thread...:

Chinese BOB spindle out

Can you post the manual for the BOB?
Last edit: 07 Dec 2020 14:45 by bevins.

More
07 Dec 2020 15:33 #191316 by AntimatterAnimals
The only manual I have is one of the photos (attached) and in the eBay listing description;

1, fully support of MACH3 and other computer software support for parallel port control.