Just Starting in CNC hobby and looking for SBC advice

More
01 Feb 2021 14:27 #197308 by Craig E
Hello everyone,
I am just starting out in CNC and I am building my first machine. It is 700mm Y Axis with 2 NEMA 34 Steppers with encoders.
The X Axis is 1300mm and I have not decided on motor yet I am still thinking on Z Axis travel.
I want to run closed loop and will be Routing wood mainly but would like to be able to mill Aluminum and plastic.
Sorry for the long introduction.
My first question is on computer hardware. I need to buy all components I do not have any old hardware to use.
I am looking for a SBC like Raspberry PI or the like. I need WiFi to connect to the network from my house to my shop.
I want to use Ethernet Motion Controller. Can anyone recommend the Hardware to use?
Can I get away with and SBC or do I need something more powerful?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Feb 2021 16:17 #197312 by tommylight
Welcome,
Personally i did try to use the RPI a while back with so-so good results and just discarded the idea due to several reasons.
For nearly the same price a decent used PC can be bought and can do a lot more. There is also the issue of suffering the small SBC to use on a big machine. Also CAM works on old PC's but SBC's will choke on it, usually.

More
01 Feb 2021 17:13 #197318 by robertspark
I'd buy a cheap fanless pc (I have two) as they cut down on dust being dragged through the pc over time.

rpi4 requires cooling via fan as far as I know or it will thermal throttle

different point.
what do you see as the benefit of running closed loop?

lost steps are lost.... you cannot make them up.

set the drives up so they don't loose steps

More
01 Feb 2021 18:25 - 01 Feb 2021 18:26 #197324 by jbraun

I'd buy a cheap fanless pc (I have two) as they cut down on dust being dragged through the pc over time.

rpi4 requires cooling via fan as far as I know or it will thermal throttle

different point.