5-Axis Head-Table Config - LCNC Novice

More
12 Feb 2024 05:26 - 12 Feb 2024 22:30 #293129 by TheRealGoose
Hello everyone,

I am hoping to find some help in my endeavors here, as I have never used LCNC before, and have also decided that I should make a 5-axis as my first LCNC machine.

First, let me explain what I have so far. I have been slowly planning my fairly basic 5-axis for quite some time now after I had such an enormous amount of fun working with the 3-axis I originally made. I came to LCNC because it seemed like one of the most capable (and affordable) CNC control softwares available. I have a decent understanding of computer until now, but the learning curve of LCNC is still significant to me. I have only just begun construction of my machine, so I will be unable to test for quite a while. I am, however, working on setting up a machine simulator in F360 so I can maybe start working on the software aspect before I get too deep in hardware. My machine will have the standard XYZ axis, a rotary axis on the table, and a rotary axis on the head that will rotate around Y. I will be running LCNC with a parallel BoB, unless you guys suggest otherwise. From my understanding, I think the max5kins will suit my purposes, but I am not sure of how to modify it to my needs, or even how to set it as the active kinematic config (complete LCNC novice). I am also curious about TCP control, if that is something I can set up. I will probably be using MasterCam if I can get a student subscription, but I will need to figure out post processing and such before I get that far. I don't have the greatest questions, but I don't really know where to start with all of this. Thank You!
Last edit: 12 Feb 2024 22:30 by TheRealGoose.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Feb 2024 08:22 #293141 by tommylight
There is another topic discussing this subject on this forum, search for nutating head.

More
12 Feb 2024 09:05 #293143 by tommylight