How do I find out what setup I'm using (dialect, post-processor, etc)?

More
27 Feb 2024 15:20 - 27 Feb 2024 20:03 #294607 by vchov
Hi, I'm looking for your help doing some detective work. I'm a member of a makerspace and am told that one of their woodworking CNC routers uses LinuxCNC, but am having trouble getting a definitive answer on how to set up a FOSS CAD/CAM workflow for it, or at least one that runs natively in Linux. My guess is that multiple people worked on it over the years so knowledge on it is fragmented.

Can you please offer advice and/or resources so I can find out more about this setup and how to use it? I have some experience using their more turnkey CNC routers and proficiency in using Linux, but very little as far as setting up and troubleshooting a CNC.

For example, I want to find out: what software/firmware it's running, what dialect of g-code it uses, how to choose a post-processor for it, etc.

What I know about the machine:
I'm told that we're using either a modified Gerber Sabre 408 or a modified "pre-production prototype" of it where they completely replaced the controller with one that's used by LinuxCNC. One member said that it uses "G64 Path Blending", although I'm not sure what that means.

There are some computers with VCarve Pro on them and I found that the post-processor mentions "EMC2-G64 Arcs (Inch)". It looks like it might not have come with VCarve, but I don't know where it could have come from and what if any, modifications were made prior to importing the PP. VCarve Pro exports its g-code as *.ngc files.

Thanks a lot for the help!
Last edit: 27 Feb 2024 20:03 by vchov. Reason: Got full name of post-processor according to VCarve

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Feb 2024 04:27 #294659 by spumco
Part 1
Assuming you can access the Linux desktop, open a terminal and type

uname -a

The response will identify the kernel version the system is running.

Next, type

linuxcnc