7I80DB-16 - Connect to MACH3 parallel port boards in a 4 axis Mill

More
03 Feb 2017 05:26 #87193 by mjoconr
Hi All

I'm new to LinuxCNC and MESA cards but a long long time Linux user and programmer.
I have a 7I80DB-16 card on the way so I can replace Mach3 on an second hand mill I purchased. (Mach3 and windows just bad)
I would like to do a soft transition to LinuxCNC, so need to adjust the MESA card to use the old parallel port boards pin outs.
I'm trying to get a feel for what steps I need to take to get things going. As I understand it the general inputs/output can be assigned via the config how ever they need be, but the Step/Dir and PWM needs to be pre-configured in the firmware.

Am I right ? or am I way off base ?

How do I build my own firmware, I looked at the code supplied by MESA and its all very confusing, lots of name abbreviations. I did find some instuctions at tom-itx.no-ip.biz:81/~webpage/emc/xilinx...14_install_index.php or github.com/mpictor/7i80-hostmot2 but the actuall editing of the file has got me a little swamped.

I found a document for the interface board which is in Chinese, the pin descriptions do not seem to match up to the below, does MACH3 use different PIN ordering ?

The currrent AXIS and Spindle pins on port 1:
X : 7 (Step) 17 (Dir)
Y: 6 (Step) 8 (Dir)
Z: 5 (Step) 16 (Dir)
A: 4 (Step) 14 (Dir)
Spindle PWM: 2 (Step) 1 (Dir)

General inputs on port 1 are:
Stops:
X++, X--, X Home = 12
Y++, Y--, Y Home = 13
X++, Z--, Z Home = 10
EStop: 11

General Inputs Port 2:
Spindle Index: 13
Probe: 12

General Output Port 1:
Coolant: 3
Charge Pump: 9

I purchased a much larger port card than I need as I want to add ATS and ATC along with controlling an arm to remove parts in the long term.

Thanks for your time
Mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Feb 2017 13:38 #87208 by andypugh
The first question is what pinout you require. It is quite likely that an existing firmware covers your needs.

More