LinuxCNC on Raspberry

More
28 Jan 2016 19:19 #69210 by kamkill
Hello,
I have to control a CNC machin with a Raspberry PI 2, I have to use Linux, LinuxCNC is not obligatory, but strongly recommanded. The problem is that I'm new to Linux and I don't know how works LinuxCNC. I have installed Linux on my Raspberry with Raspbian NOOBS (www.raspberrypi.org/downloads/noobs/), but I dont know how to install LinuxCNC, I have tried a lot of things, but nothing worked. Can someone explaine me hoe to install LinuxCNC on a Raspberry PI 2.

Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Jan 2016 07:18 - 29 Jan 2016 07:19 #69218 by ArcEye
Replied by ArcEye on topic LinuxCNC on Raspberry
Linuxcnc does not run on ARM processors.

Machinekit does and this has a link to an image for the rpi2
groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/machinekit/HGolUP511ps

However please read the comments on the rpi's suitability as a controller,
it isn't suitable.

The people saying this are not just shooting the breeze, they know what they are talking about.
They cannot do adequate software stepping and adding hardware boards to do it defeats the initial attraction of a cheap board.

Save yourself a lot of time and effort and buy a second hand desktop x86 from ebay (of a type recommended in the latency test wiki, or elsewhere on the forum).
You will get much better results.

regards
Last edit: 29 Jan 2016 07:19 by ArcEye.

More
29 Jan 2016 10:12 #69225 by cncbasher
Replied by cncbasher on topic LinuxCNC on Raspberry

Hello,