XMOS cape for real time task instead of PRU?

More
04 Feb 2014 01:08 #43502 by boeserbaer
HI all,

I am new to this, so I hope I am not way off. I just got my, new to me, RF-30 clone cleaned up and working (manually) this weekend. I am planning to install a very simple CNC system using the existing lead screws, and a timing belt/pulley to the stepper motors (ALA John Knoll's you tube example). And yes, I do know that this is about the worst possible MILL to CNC (mine only has a 12" x 4" by 4" work area) , but it was given to me, and seems like a good place to dive in.

Since It looks like using the BBB PRU from a programming perspective is not completely straight forward, I wondered if there is a clear place in the code base that I could replace the PRU functionality with a SPI interface to a cape mounted XMOS controller. I have used the XMOS chips on other projects, and really like the thread (they are multi-core) communications, and the speed (125 MIPS per thread, 4 threads per core).

Where to start looking at how the BBB PRU communicates with LINUXCNC would be a starting place I think.

Can anyone comment on having been down this path already, or offer opinions on its merits?

If I proceed, I will make the design/gerbers available for others. I will also have follow on questions about motor drivers.

Best Regards, Mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Feb 2014 02:32 #43717 by tinkerer
Hi boeser Baer,

I've made a 1st version of a spi-driver for the pluto-fpga board for raspi and bbb. The raspi driver works well but I have problems with the bbb driver due to the very bad spidev module in the machinekit (linux). I'm working on a direct mcspi driver.
And I'm interested in a xmos version since I've one. :)

Regards, Matsche

More
11 Feb 2014 03:42 #43721 by boeserbaer
Hi Matsche,