- Posts: 71
- Thank you received: 0
How do I close a g-code file in Gmocapy?
- rogerfries
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Senior Member
-
When I make changes to my g-code, I generally go back to my Fusion 360 Windows PC, make my changes and re-post. I post to Dropbox which syncs to the LinuxCNC machine if the file is locked the new file won't transfer therefore I need to close the file so I can get the new one.
Is there a close file button I'm missing?
Thanks
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Norbert
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- chrisfairbrother
- Offline
- Junior Member
-
- Posts: 22
- Thank you received: 0
Chris
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- tommylight
-
- Away
- Administrator
-
- Posts: 22009
- Thank you received: 3
I would disagree as i do save the already opened file in LinuxCNC several times during a single day, so i can confirm that LinuxCNC does not lock an opened gcode file for reading or writing or deleting. I use the Axis GUI.chrisfairbrother wrote: Yes Norbert is correct. If you open a gcode file in Linuxcnc, the file is locked for write, and cannot be overwritten while Linuxcnc has the file open.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- chrisfairbrother
- Offline
- Junior Member
-
- Posts: 22
- Thank you received: 0
Please Log in to join the conversation.
I have the same results as Tom, it works fine.tommylight wrote:
I would disagree as i do save the already opened file in LinuxCNC several times during a single day, so i can confirm that LinuxCNC does not lock an opened gcode file for reading or writing or deleting. I use the Axis GUI.chrisfairbrother wrote: Yes Norbert is correct. If you open a gcode file in Linuxcnc, the file is locked for write, and cannot be overwritten while Linuxcnc has the file open.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- Todd Zuercher
- Offline
- Platinum Member
-
- Posts: 4739
- Thank you received: 2
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- rogerfries
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Senior Member
-
- Posts: 71
- Thank you received: 0
In reality, by the time I get back to my CNC, the file should be synced and I can simply click the reload button and run with my CAM updates. The fact that the file is not locked is a big improvement in my workflow as I would often forget to close the file before I went upstairs to make my CAM change. Then the file would not sync as Mach 3 locked the file.
Thanks!
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- Todd Zuercher
- Offline
- Platinum Member
-
- Posts: 4739
- Thank you received: 2
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- rogerfries
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Senior Member
-
- Posts: 71
- Thank you received: 0
Please Log in to join the conversation.
