can you add a measurement field and a go to button to emc2

More
28 Jan 2017 12:51 #86836 by Pause22
Hi i have been using emc2 on my pacer router for a few years with no problems ,i now want to make a digital fence for my chop saw and thought emc would be great to control it but i really would like to have a field on the emc screen to enter the required position and also a button to execute the command ,does anyone know if this is possible ?
thanks Sean

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jan 2017 13:00 #86838 by bevins

Hi i have been using emc2 on my pacer router for a few years with no problems ,i now want to make a digital fence for my chop saw and thought emc would be great to control it but i really would like to have a field on the emc screen to enter the required position and also a button to execute the command ,does anyone know if this is possible ?
thanks Sean

In the Axis gui, there is a MDI tab that you can do that. It is there when you install it.

Or you can creat one, thats easy also.

More
31 Jan 2017 00:39 #87019 by andypugh

i really would like to have a field on the emc screen to enter the required position and also a button to execute the command ,does anyone know if this is possible ?

Yes, it's possible.

You probably don't need anything more complicated than a GladeVCP panel with two buttons (HOME and GO) and a numerical entry box.

Probably not worth having a keyboard, or maybe only a full-time touch screen numeric one.

More
31 Jan 2017 09:10 #87044 by Pause22
Thanks for your suggestion i will look into it,do you have any tips for setting it up?

More
31 Jan 2017 10:05 #87047 by andypugh
I can only really suggest the docs:
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/gui/gladevcp.html

You can make the moves using the MDI action button, and substituting the entry box number into the MDI command (see sectinon 7.5)
Homing would probably need to be a HAL widget, that gets connected in HAL to the axis.0.home pin.

More